Friday, December 28, 2012

A new, fresh look at ashtanga -- eight limbs of yoga

Click to get cool Animations for your MySpace profile
Free MySpace Animations!
This is an exciting definition of the eight-fold pathway by Trishiki Brahmana Upanishad. 
Each limb is given a new twist, especially the last one. 

Yama: Dispassion relative to bodily organs is called restraint/yama

Niyama: Adherence to the ultimate truth is discipline /niyama

The belief the whole world is false is breath-control/ pranayama

Inward movement of the mind, is sense withdrawal /pratyahara

The mind's stability is concentration / dharana

The I-am-pure-awareness thought is called meditation/dhyana

Completely forgetting one is meditation, that is called ectasy /samadhi. 

No comments: